Back to top

Four teams remain in hunt for KIJHL Title

Beaver Valley meets Kimberley and Revelstoke hosts Princeton in the Conference Finals.

The Final Four in the Kootenay International Junior Hockey League begins Friday in Kimberley and Revelstoke.

The Beaver Valley Nitehawks and Kimberley Dynamiters begin the best-of-seven Kootenay Conference Final in the Bavarian City while in the Okanagan Conference defending KIJHL champion Revelstoke Grizzlies host the Princeton Posse.

“We’re confident in our playing style and systems and we know exactly how we have to play every game,” said Hawks netminder Connor Stojan, who backstopped Beaver Valley to a 4-3 series victory in the Neil Murdoch Final.

“When we play our style of hockey, there are not a lot of teams that can compete with us. It’s just going to be a matter of execution in the Kimberley series.” 

Both Kimberley and Beaver Valley needed to work some playoff magic, each rallying from 3-1 deficits to advance to the Kootenay Conference Final.

Nelson Minor Hockey grad Kaleb Percival scored in overtime to power Beaver Valley to a 3-2 victory.

In Kimberley, Trystan Self made 36 saves to shutout Fernie Ghostriders 3-0.

In the Okanagan Conference, both Revelstoke and Princeton breezed to the final.

The Grizzlies knocked off Sicamous 4-0 in the Doug Birks Final while the Posse eliminated North Okanagan Knights in five games.

Game two of each series goes Saturday night before the series shift to Beaver Valley and Princeton for Games three Tuesday.

The Conference winners advance to the Teck Cup final.

The KIJHL Champions represents the league at the Cyclone Taylor Cup April 13-16 in Revelstoke.