NDP Roly Russell sworn into Legislature as MLA for Boundary-Similkameen

Boundary Sentinel
By Boundary Sentinel
November 25th, 2020

Roly Russell was sworn into the Legislature virtually Tuesday, as the new BC New Democrat MLA for Boundary-Similkameen following an historic election.  

Russell, former Kootenay Boundary Area D Rep for Grand Forks, is one of57 new BC NDP members who were sworn in as part of part of British Columbia’s 42nd Parliament, all focused on supporting people through the COVID-19 pandemic and delivering on their commitments to British Columbians. 

“I am keenly excited to be given the mandate to represent the people of the Boundary, South Okanagan, and Similkameen, both at home and in the Legislature,” said Russell, who defeated Petra Veintimilla of the BC Liberal Party for replace former MLA Linda Larson, who decided not to run in the October election.

“I am eager for what we will achieve as a government to make life better here and around B.C. by putting people first.” 

The election of this New Democrat caucus features a number of notable milestones, including:  

  • First majority-women governing caucus in Canadian history 
  • Largest BC NDP caucus in history 
  • Highest number of IBPOC MLAs ever in a caucus in BC  

The government said British Columbians have put their trust in New Democrats to lead the province’s pandemic recovery, and this diverse team will ensure no one gets left behind as we move forward.  

Russell won the Boundary-Similkameen riding with afinal tally of 10,500 votes (49.85 per cent). Second was Veintimilla with 7,735 votes (36.72 per cent) while Conservative Darryl Seres finished third at 2,354 votes (11.18 per cent) and Arlyn Greig of Wexit BC fourth with 474 votes (2.25 per cent).

Former Nelson City Councillor Brittny Anderson was also sworn in as MLA for Nelson-Creston while Minister Katrina Conroy took her seat as MLA for Kootenay West.



Categories: General

Other News Stories