ELECTION 2014: All Candidates Forum announced; candidate profiles start tomorrow

Kyra Hoggan
By Kyra Hoggan
October 16th, 2014

Covering elections can be a challenge, especially with a full slate of candidates. Reporters ask questions, but also have to choose which answers to publish. Even the most objective reporter won’t always fairly represent the candidates that way. The Chamber of Commerce All Candidates Forum is great way to start getting to know your candidates (this election’s forum will be on Oct. 30 from 7 to 9 p.m. at the Sandman), but even that has limitations, with just two hours to address the platforms of fully 15 candidates.

To address potential inequities, The Source has decided to give all candidates the opportunity to introduce themselves and their platforms in their own words, with write-ups on any subjects they like, of any length they prefer, starting with the election newcomers.

We’ll try, bar any huge breaking news stories, to keep each candidate’s profile on our front page for at least 24 hours and, of course, we’ll post each submission on Facebook and Twitter as well.

We’ll begin with potential council newcomers, then publish the profiles of council incumbents, then mayoral candidates, and finish with school board trustee candidates (all those who choose to participate).

Of course, we will still offer regular election coverage, and we encourage readers to contact us with their priorities, questions and concerns, which we will do our best to pass along to candidates and report on answers we receive.

Previous coverage listing candidates:

The nomination period for municipal elections closed today at 4 p.m., and Castlegar’s chief electoral officer Carolyn Rempel has released the names of the people running in our Nov.-15 election.

Running for mayor will be incumbent Lawrence Chernoff and regional district director Gordon Zaitsoff (who is also running again for his seat with the RDCK, against RIck Smith).

Five council incumbents running are: Susan Heaton-Sherstobitoff, Kevin Chernoff, Florio Vassilakakis, Deb McIntosh and Dan Rye. Newcomers throwing their hats in the ring are: David Grantham, Tyler Maddocks, Bruno Tassone, John Phillips and Kere MacGregor (there are six seats on council).

For SD 20 trustee, we have Rosanne Eileen Brunton of Castlegar, Mickey Kinakin of Thrums and Catherine Zaitsoff of Robson.


This post was syndicated from https://castlegarsource.com
Categories: GeneralPolitics

Other News Stories