Osoyoos gets $300K+ for tourism

By Contributor
May 13th, 2014

Osoyoos will receive $322,472 from the B.C. government to support tourism infrastructure and amenities, Boundary-Similkameen MLA Linda Larson announced today.

“This $322,472 funding will enhance opportunities for tourism in our community,” Larson said. “Improving infrastructure and amenities is vital to the longevity of our tourism industry.”

The funding comes from the Resort Municipality Initiative program, which helps grow the tourism sector in 14 eligible municipalities.

“The RMI funding is crucial to our small rural resort communities,” Osoyoos Mayor Stu Well said. “This funding enables us to fully promote and continually improve our visitors’ experiences.”

Osoyoos has received a total of $2,255,498 from the RMI program since 2008.

Funded projects will include boat parking, marina improvements, safety infrastructure and extensive upgrades to Gyro Park’s green space, parking, water slides and amphitheatre.

This year, the B.C. government is providing $10.5 million shared among British Columbia’s 14 resort-oriented municipalities.

B.C.’s tourism sector is one of the eight key sectors identified in the B.C. Jobs Plan, creating more than 125,000 jobs and over $13.5 billion in revenues across the province. Since RMI inception in 2007, over $87.6 million has been invested in tourism infrastructure and programs to support local and regional tourism economies in the 14 participating communities.

This is the eighth year the RMI program has been in operation, with more than $87.6 million directed to resort communities since 2006. RMI is a program that addresses the unique circumstances of resort-oriented municipalities. Some examples of RMI initiatives funded throughout the 14 municipalities include trail maintenance, public art, visitor centre enhancements, shuttle services and visitor sign improvements.

The 14 communities that participate in the RMI initiative are Fernie, Golden, Harrison Hot Springs, Invermere, Kimberley, Osoyoos, Radium Hot Springs, Revelstoke, Rossland, Sun Peaks, Tofino, Ucluelet, Valemount and Whistler.

Categories: GeneralPolitics

Other News Stories