Cross Country Canada names Under-23 and Junior World Championship teams--including one Rosslander!

By Contributor
January 18th, 2012

CANMORE, Alta.—The next generation of Olympian cross-country ski athletes will look to gain valuable international experience while representing Canada at the 2012 Junior and Under-23 World Championships in Erzurum, Turkey, February 19-26.


Cross Country Canada named 16 athletes that will wear Canadian colours at the international junior Nordic skiing festival on Tuesday, following this past weekend’s selection trials at Whistler Olympic Park.

“This is a young but experienced group of athletes have made huge progress racing both domestically on the Haywood NorAm circuit and internationally,” said Tom Holland, high-performance director, Cross Country Canada. “The talent pool of young cross-country skiers continues to grow, and these athletes are well-prepared to achieve excellence in Turkey.”

Highlighting the team is five athletes that hail from Whitehorse, marking the only region to have athletes place in each category and gender classification.

“It is clear through these results that Whitehorse is leading the country with strong grassroots Nordic ski programs,” said Holland. “Whitehorse has a well-developed club with strong coaching and volunteer resources which are contributing immensely to the successful development of their athletes.”

Five athletes will also represent Alberta – all in the under-23 class, four athletes are from Quebec, while one athlete skis out of British Columbia and one from Ontario.

The following is a complete list of Canada’s 2012 Junior and Under-23 World Championship Teams:

Junior Team:                                                                 Under-23 Team:

Dahria Beatty – Whitehorse                                          Emily Nishikawa – Whitehorse

Janelle Greer – Whitehorse                                           Heidi Widmer – Banff, Alta.

Anne-Marie Comeau – St-Ferréol-les-Neiges, Que.      Marlis Kromm – Calgary

Emilie Stewart-Jones – Chelsea, Que.                          Annika Hicks – Canmore, Alta.

Raphael Couturier – Quebec                                         Graeme Killick – Banff, Alta.

Knute Johnsgarrd – Whitehorse                                    Jesse Cockney – Calgary

Geoffrey Richards – Rossland, B.C.                             David Greer – Whitehorse

Alexis Turgeon – Gatineau, Que.                                 Chris Hamilton – Thunder Bay, Ont.

The Canadian Team will travel to Turkey on February 11, 2012.

This article is a press release from Cross Country Canada.

This post was syndicated from https://rosslandtelegraph.com
Categories: Sports