Back to top

Hawks outlast Wolves, Bombers finish third at WK Boys Basketball Championships

From left, West Kootenay Junior Boy's Basketball Allstars, Danny MacMaster, Maddox Hampf, Quinn Kilpatrick, Connor Nagle, Kayden Moll and Most Outstanding Player, Ben Jangula. — The Nelson Daily photo

L.V. Rogers Bombers overcame a slow start to bounce Stanley Humphries of Castlegar 66-36 at West Kootenay Junior Boys Basketball Playoff Tournament Saturday at the Hangar in Nelson.

Nathan Humphrey led the Bombers against SHSS in the Consolation Final with 18 points.

Jake Wheeler had 13 while Mika Whitefield, Griffin Phillips and Cole Woodward each added eight points.

The Bombers were knocked out of the running for the tournament championship when Grand Forks edged LVR 54-47 in semi-final action.

Kohei Dunnet sparked the Wolves to victory with 15 points, most coming in the paint. Matt Stewart added 10 points while Anson de Silva had seven. 

Bomber Quinn Kilpatrick led all scorers with 21 points while Calvin Wheeler added 11.

In the Tournament Final, top seed J. Lloyd Crowe Hawks, which defeated Salmo in the other semifinal, rallied from a nine-point halftime deficit to edge Grand Forks Wolves 47-42 to capture the West Kootenay Junior Boys Basketball Championship.

The game was tight through the first 14 minutes of the game with Crowe holding a 19-14 advantage.

However, Grand Forks, sparked by the aggressive play of Maddox Hampf, went on a 12-0 run to take a 28-19 lead at recess.

But the Hawks kept pecking away at the lead. Led by the smooth shooting of Kayden Moll, who led all scorers with 17 points, including three from outside the three-point arc, Crowe roared back to take a 41-40 lead late in the game.

Crowe then outscored the Wolves 6-2 down the stretch to secure the victory.

Diego Palmer had 10 points for the Hawks with teammates Connor Nagle and Aiden Ripplinger each adding seven.

Replying for Grand Forks were Danny MacMaster with nine, Hampf with eight and Dunnett with seven.

Ben Jangula was named Most Outstanding Player in the tournament while Quinn Kilpatrick from LVR, Danny MacMaster and Maddox Hempft from Grand Forks and Kayden Moll and Connor Nagle were selected to the All-Star Team.